Criminal Attorneys & DWI Lawyers in Covington, New Orleans, and Shreveport Louisiana
Assault Charges Lawyer Louisiana
Assault Charges Lawyer Louisiana
Are you facing assault charges in Louisiana? Assault charges are nothing to joke about. We will be talking about the process of being arrested and getting a lawyer when you have assault charges pending. In Louisiana, this is not taken lightly. That is why it is essential to know the process and where to go to find the right assault lawyer in Louisiana.
Getting Arrested For Assault In Louisiana
The first step is the arrest. You will be arrested and legally you will need to provide both home address and name to the officer. You can remain silent and wait for an attorney. You should avoid answering questions because some of them may come out wrong. You should always ensure that you have someone present with you when you talk.
It is best to avoid talking because sometimes silence is better than talking. If you talk, it can be misinterpreted and used against you. Often it is those who speak that get in more trouble than those who do not.
Determining Probable Cause For Assault Charges
There are a few different steps to the court case. This starts within 48 hours (about 2 days) of your arrest. The first thing to occur is probable cause. This may happen without you or your attorney. A district attorney and a judge will look at your case. The case must have enough evidence for a trial or arrest. It is at this point that someone may be released due to insufficient evidence.
Appearing In Front of the Judge
The first time you appear in front of a judge will be for a bond hearing. This is if your assault was a felony charge or not. You will know what your bond is at this point. Bond is determined based on the severity of the crime, what your prior record states, and if you are a flight risk or not.
Some people will not have a bond because they are considered a flight risk. Flight risks will sit in a cell until their final hearing to ensure that they do not run during the process.
Once the following has been done, you will have to be patient. The district attorney will look at your case. If you are sitting in jail this can be done within 45 days (about 1 and a half months). If it is a felony, they will have 60 days (about 2 months).
If a person is released with their bond, there is 90 days (about 3 months) for a misdemeanor and 150 days (about 5 months) to file for a felony charge.
If you have gone past this period and have not seen progress. They will release you from jail. They can only hold you if there is a good enough reason for any delays.
Before you appear in court, you should have a defense attorney. You want someone who will help you along the way. You will appear in front of the judge and enter your plea. It usually will be not guilty. Then the prosecution will offer a plea deal that will get you to admit to your guilt for a lesser sentence. This is sometimes a great idea. However, it may not be in your best interest. That is why you have an assault charges lawyer next to you.
Generally, the plea deal is not taken, and the case will go to trial. This will allow your lawyer to get all the information needed to help you. They will take all the time to put everything together and help you. If you are facing a misdemeanor charge, your case will appear in front of the judge. However, if you are facing a felony charge, there will be a jury as well.
Hiring an Assault Lawyer In Louisiana
You should contact an assault lawyer as soon as the arrest is made. This will be your best chance to get the best result. Having a lawyer on your side will help you in your situation. They can help you with all the legal aspects while you are waiting for trial. Plus, having a lawyer will decrease your sentence and help you benefit in the end. That is why you should contact the best in the business, Barkemeyer Law Firm.
Wrapping Up: Assault Charges Lawyer In Louisiana
Having a defense lawyer such as Barkemeyer Law Firm that specializes in assault will help you have a better trial. It will help the process move along quicker and make life easier on you. Sure, you made a mistake, let us help you.
You should now have a better understanding of whether you should hire an assault charges lawyer in Louisiana.
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION WITH OUR DWI LAWYERS!
Louisiana DWI & Criminal Lawyers
Louisiana criminal lawyers and DWI attorneys at the Barkemeyer Law Firm providing legal defense services for clients in New Orleans, Metairie, Kenner, Gretna, Hahnville, Belle Chasse, St. Bernard, Slidell, St. Tammany, St. Charles, St. John, Laplace, Mandeville, Covington, Shreveport, Bossier, and Jefferson.
DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client relationship.