The charge of Hit and Run in Louisiana can either be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the facts alleged by the prosecutor. Hit and Run is when the driver of a vehicle is invloved in an accident, whether he/she caused the accident or not, and the driver leaves the scene without giving his/her information and rendering reasonable aid.
Hit an Run is usually charged as a misdemeanor with a sentence that carries 0-6 months in jail and a fine of up to $500. However, if the prosecutor can prove that the driver consumed drugs or alcohol before the accident, the cunsumption of the drugs and/or alcohol had a significant contribution to the accident, and the driver knew that by leaving the scene he would avoid getting in trouble, the defendant could be looking at a mandatory 10 days in jail.
Felony Hit and Run can be charged when facts support that death or serious bodily injury has occurred due to the accident and the driver knew or should have known about such injury. This charge carries a fine of up to $5000 and imprisonment of up to 10 years. This is a very serious charge especially since there may exist a victim's family that is pursuing the charge.
Contact a St Tammany Parish, Louisiana Hit and Run Attorney.